Update Email that I sent out. Enjoy!

Hello friends!

I hope you are having a great week! I want thank all of you again for supporting me in Botetourt. I really could not be doing this without you! Your prayers and support mean so much to me! As part of my ongoing thanking process, I want to give you an update on how things are going with ministry in Buchanan!
The kids at River are so sweet and have made me feel very welcomed. The school has about 450 kids who attend, so it’s really felt like a family. The first time I went to lunches at the high school, I was greeted by several campaigner girls who quickly invited me to come sit with them and meet their friends. This was such a relief to me!
This past Monday night, 33 high school kids from James River High School came out to our first Young Life club of the year. I was so excited to see how club at River works, but I was also very nervous! I am familiar with a lot of kids at this point, but there were a bunch of new faces. With only two leaders at River (and no male leader!), leading at club is certainly more of a challenge than it was when I was in college. It was also the first time that I played guitar for club. I chose some easy songs (firework, don’t stop believin’, free fallin’, and I have a Maker!) and I think it went pretty well..aside from a few technical difficulties with our amp!! Despite the amp, it felt like everyone was having fun. My favorite part of club was when Jen Harris (my teammate!) got up to share about her life and about how there is a God who created and loves each of us. She had 5 or 6 parents email her letters that they had written to their kids who were in the crowd at club. Each letter was about how much each mom loves their son or daughter. Jen had the chance to read these letters during her club talk and it had such an impact on everyone there. It was made very clear that these parents are crazy about their kids. It was so cool to watch the tough football player boys in the room turn bright red as Jen read about how much a few moms loves them. Although they were embarrassed, I know that their hearts were so glad to hear that they are loved. Jen followed up these notes with reading the ultimate love note that is found in Psalm 139.
13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
they would outnumber the grains of sand—
when I awake, I am still with you.

If parents love their kids as much as their letters showed, how much more does our perfect God love us?! Next week, I get to share about who Jesus is and how he left his place in Heaven to be with his people on earth. I’m very excited for this opportunity! Please pray for me next Tuesday around 8:50. Also pray that I can demonstrate Jesus’ choice to leave his Home by leaving the comfort of my home (and office!) to go be with kids at JRHS this week.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and for being a part of what God is doing at James River HS. Because of you, 33 kids went home Monday evening knowing and feeling that they are loved unconditionally. Some of them felt that perhaps for the first time. Your support has a real and lasting impact on the lives of real people. If that isn’t something to be excited about, I don’t know what is!
In Him,
Marissa Kennedy
____________________________________________________________________________________________
Blog friends, if you would like to support me financially and/or be on my email list, let me know! my email is marissa.ken.g@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

